What’s been going on with me?

I thought I would do a blog on what’s been going on with me lately. From home life to work life. Let’s start with home/personal life.

Healthy and Happy
So as you know I’m on this fitness kick, so far so good. I’ve lost a total of 5lbs, which to me isn’t a lot, BUT it’s still a loss and I feel so much better in myself and I feel that had I measure myself, I’d have seen a big difference. This week was the first week that I’ve had someone say I’m looking slimmer. I can’t tell you how good that made me feel. Being a yoyo dieter most of my young adult life, quitting a hell of a lot, means that a comment like that works wonders for my confidence. I’m doing at least one exercise class a week and then maybe a run in between and walking my dogs everyday. Of course there are weeks where I don’t do a lot, but hey I’m only human, as Rag N Bone Man would say. Ok fitness, diets, healthy, blah blah boring. NEXT!

Valentine’s Day❤️
This Valentines was the first one Joni and I have had as husband and wife and do you know what we did? Absolutely sod all. Up until about four years ago I had always been a huge valentines lover (excuse the pun), but now I just don’t play into it. It’s just a way of shops making money in my eyes, why do you need one day to show someone how much you love them? As sickening as that is, it’s true. Instead we had a Chinese and a night in, no different to any other night. Yes, we are like two boring old farts. ❤️


An Epiphany
So, over the last few weeks I’ve had this type of epiphany. I am someone that overthinks way WAY too much. I take things to heart and often unnecessarily. I can count on one hand how many decent friends I have, ones I know are for life. I’ve always made effort with friends because these are people you confide in, have girly chats and girls nights and I think it’s so important to have that in your life. You need that balance of relationship and friendship. Anyway my epiphany was that I’ve worked my ass off with some people, bending over backwards to make the effort. It got to the point with some that I was making so much effort that it almost seemed I was begging for a friendship. Excuse my utter French but absolutely fuck that! If you want to be my friend you’ll reciprocate the effort and if you don’t then be prepared to be deleted from my life because, I don’t need that kind of negativity. Ever since I’ve had this attitude I’ve been a lot happier. Just goes to show how miserable and crappy some people can make you feel.

Fighting
Fighting for Cancer Research
On Monday 27th February, I will be attending the registration and officially signing up to train in boxing for eight weeks. This will be Ultra White Collar Boxing and will eventually result in an event where I will be boxing against an opponent of similar height and weight as me. I’m not going to lie, I am a bit scared, I’ve only ever done things like Karate or Kenpo in the past. Hopefully this money maker face of mine won’t be injured too much. It’s for a great cause and it’s a great opportunity to get fit. My fundraising page will soon be out there for anyone to donate to a great cause.


Work Life
So some of you may know, but for those who don’t, I have been given the opportunity to train as a Veterinary Nurse. How awesome is that? I’ve loved animals since knee high, I’ve always had animals in my life which I’m so thankful for. I actually empathise with those who haven’t grown up with animals. I always find those who haven’t, are usually the ones who are afraid of animals, which is such a shame.
With this training I will be going to college one day a week whilst being at work for the rest of the week. I’ve started doing bits and bobs which is great and to be honest it makes me feel a little bit more important. Not that a receptionist isn’t important but I feel like I’m doing a bit more. Sometimes I feel a bit useless if I’m manning reception and all my colleagues are running around like blue ass flies with operations out the back. I also got a new name badge, it says ‘Student Vet Nurse’ and everything. Yes! That was a nice surprise from my bosses. Once I get a little more involved into the nursing side of things, I’m going to do a blog on what it is to be a Veterinary Nurse. I think it’s important for people to know the ins and outs of the job. The Nurses are so important, just as important as a Vet in my opinion.


This is it for now, just a catch up on what’s been going on with me. I’m still writing my Fantasy Novel and I’m loving doing it, I just need my own space to do it. I have a room in my house but we’re still decorating, so I’m having to be patient. Bye for now 🐶

coollogo_com-5454200

Leave a Reply

