How to make Princess Cupcakes. DISNEY STYLE!

A bit of a different blog for me, it will be a short one because I’ve actually done my very first… Wait for it… VLOG! The Vlog, on my YouTube channel, will show you how to frost your cupcake into the style of a princess dress. As well, I’ll show you where to position the Disney princess herself. I’ve only ever done these cupcakes twice, my first go was about four years ago and my second was about a month ago. My best friend saw them and messaged me straight away asking for a batch for her daughters 4th birthday. Of course, I said yes. What was this? My first order for my masterpieces. It felt great when I was getting other comments from mums asking me if I could do them for their daughters. No problem! I enjoy baking, like writing, it’s a way for me to escape the everyday rubbish. I don’t like the clearing up after, but what person does?

Runs in the family
It seems baking is in the family, I used to bake buns with my Grandma. We used to stay around my Grandma and Granddad’s house every Friday night and when we used to find out we were going to be baking, we would be elated. (We being my sister and brother. My sister is a couple years younger and My brother a couple years older.) My favourite part, as I’m sure is everyone’s, is of course licking the spoon after mixing the ingredients. Mmmm. Nothing better right? Nothing changes, I still do it now. DON’T WORRY I don’t re-use it again. We’d put the the buns in the oven and wait for the delicious smell of them baking and then once they were done I’d want one straight away and Grandma would smack my hand away. Oh those were certainly the days. Unfortunately she’s not with us anymore but she lives through me when I’m baking. Here’s an image of my amazing Grandma, back in her prime on her wedding day with my Granddad.
 16265561_10211667685750122_7190604491935065717_n
 As well as this, my lovely Step-Mum, yes that’s right lovely they’re not all witches, she creates the most wonderful and amazingly decorated cakes. I can learn a lot from her. She owns her very own cake baking company called Cake Opera in Weymouth, in the UK. I love seeing her creations when she shares them on Facebook. She doesn’t know this but I’m going to pin her down to teach me a trick or two when I visit. To see her cakes visit http://www.facebook.com/cakeoperadorset .For now, here’s a couple of pictures of her work.
 My Recipe
I have a confession to make, this isn’t actually my recipe, my Step Mum actually gave it too me. Guilty! So anyway, for the recipe, I actually use a simple recipe which my Step Mum gave me.
Ingredients:
4oz Caster Sugar
4oz Self Raising Flower
4oz Soft Marg (I use Storks)
2 Eggs
1/2 tsp of Vanilla Extract
For the buttercream:
500g Icing Sugar
250g Butter
Method:
First of all set your oven to 170. Mix together the caster sugar, marg and eggs. Then fold in the flour and vanilla extract and you’ll soon get to the point where is a thick creamy consistency. Then distribute the mixture into your cupcake cases. This usually measures out to about 12 smaller cupcakes or 10 bigger ones. Put them in the oven for about 20-25 minutes. You’ll know they’re done if you poke them with a knife and the knife comes out clean.
For the buttercream, you want to make sure the butter has been at room temp, otherwise you’re going to find it difficult to mix together with the icing sugar. This part of baking is incredibly messy and you’ll be surround in a cloud of icing sugar. IT GETS EVERYWHERE!! Be patient, as is can take a while but just keep mixing with an electric mixer, until its a think cream coloured consistency.
It is quite simple, GOOD LUCK! Head on over to my YouTube channel, link is below, this will show you have to frost the icing into dresses.
YouTube Channel
So here they are, my Disney Princess Cupcakes. Click on this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzZMPxkiXvQ&t=25s to watch my Vlog on how I got to this end result. Just to pre-warn you, I’m just getting used to the camera so please bare with me. Thank you for reading, bye for now.
17022291_10154369973138601_6591507262918000173_n
coollogo_com-5454200
Leave a Reply

